Feminist Humanist About

What is the Feminist Humanist Award?

In 1982, the Feminist Caucus established its annual Humanist Heroine Award to recognize outstanding feminists for their significant contributions to the movement. The initial award was presented to Sonia Johnson. Some other Humanist Heroines over the years have included Tish Sommers, Christine Craft, Anne Nicole Gaylor, Patricia Maginnis, Fran Hosken, Cleo Kocol, Carolyn McDade, Sherry Matulis, and Sally Roesch Wagner. In 2017, the Humanist Heroine Award was renamed the "Feminist Humanist Award."

How does someone become a Feminist Humanist Awardee?

The Feminist Humanist Award is bestowed upon individuals who advance the ideals of human rights and especially gender justice using a feminist, non-theological approach. It recognizes those who challenge and seek to transform oppressive norms in phenomenal ways.

This Year's Feminist Humanist Awardee: Ijeoma Oluo


Ijeoma Oluo is a Seattle-based Writer, Speaker and Internet Yeller. Her work on race, feminism and other social issues has been featured in The GuardianThe StrangerThe Washington PostTIME Magazine and more. She is the Editor at Large at The Establishment. Her book, So You Want To Talk About Race was published in January with Seal Press. You can find her yelling on Twitter @ijeomaoluo.

Prior Feminist Humanist Award Recipients

1982  Sonia Johnson     1983  Tish Sommers       1984   Christine Craft      1985   Anne Nicol Gaylor

1986  Patricia Maginnis 1987  Fran P. Hosken     1988  Cleo Kocol              1989   Ann Simonton

1990  Carolyn McDade  1991  Sherry Matulis      1992  Sally Wagner           1993   Barbara Walker

1994  Kristin Lems        1995  Rosemary Matson 1996  Annette Van Howe  1997  Dottie Lamm

1998  Loretta J. Ross   1999  Lorrie Williams    2000  Molly Murphy MacGregor 2001 Diane Russell

2002  Samantha Smoot 2003 Kate Michelman    2004  Aileen Hernandez    2005   Amy Goodman

2006  Julia Sweeney     2007 Robin Morgan       2008  Eleanor Smeal          2009    Norma Ramos

2010  Meg Bowman, Annie Laurie Gaylor (co-recipients)  2011  Judy Norsigian  2012 Debra Sweet

2013  Katha Pollitt        2014  Jessica Valenti      2015  Jean Kilbourne        2016   Medea Benjamin

2017  Susie Bright

The Feminist Humanist Alliance is a national network of women, genderqueer and trans people committed to the principles of humanism and inclusive feminism. We strive for social progress through promoting critical consciousness and direct action.